Ch-Ch-Changes In The House Of Delegates

-686Days -15Hours -48Minuts -6Seconds

The 2017 legislative session starts tomorrow, January 11. To say that there’s going to be change is the understatement of the year. Nowhere is this more apparent than on the Health & Government Operations Committee, which under former Chair Pete Hammen’s collegial leadership was known as “Peace in the Valley” for the general lack of waves and rancor that some other committees often experienced.

Well, Peace in the Valley may continue to reign, but the people responsible for making that happen are definitely changing, and at a time when health care is going to be front and center.

With Hammen off to work for new mayor Catherine Pugh, Howard County Delegate Shane Pendergrass takes over the chairmanship of the committee, while Eric Bromwell of Baltimore County becomes vice chair. Sandy Rosenberg moves to HGO to lead the Government Operations and Long Term Care Subcommittee. And Montgomery County Delegate and good friend of this establishment Bonnie Cullison takes over the Insurance Subcommittee.

Two MoCo delegates will be moving to HGO as well: Marice Morales (D19) and Andrew Platt (D17), coming from Judiciary and Ways & Means, respectively.

Set forth below is a press release from Speaker Mike Busch outlining all of the committee changes that have been decided. There will be more changes coming tomorrow.


House Speaker Michael E. Busch today announced leadership changes and committee assignments, following the resignation of Chairman Peter Hammen (District 46) last month to work for the Pugh Administration.
Delegate Shane Pendergrass (District 13) will be the new chairman of the Health and Government Operations Committee.Delegate Eric Bromwell (District 8) will be the new vice chairman of the Health and Government Operations Committee and continue as chairman of the Health Facilities and Occupations Subcommittee.
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg (District 41) will move to the Health and Government Operations Committee to chair the Government Operations and Long Term Care Subcommittee.
“Shane Pendergrass has been a steady hand in the vice chairman’s seat since 2007 in the Health and Government Operations Committee and will not miss a beat stepping into the chairman’s role,” said Speaker Busch. “Shane and Eric will be a great team in the Committee and, with the addition of Sandy Rosenberg, help guide health and procurement policy for the House against an onslaught of federal changes, ensuring healthcare access for working men and women across Maryland.”
The committee leadership will be completed with Delegate Bonnie Cullison (District 19) as chair of the Insurance Subcommittee. Estates and Trusts legislation will be considered by the Government Operations and Long Term Care Subcommittee.
In the House Judiciary Committee, Delegate Vanessa Atterbeary (District 12) will chair the Family Law Subcommittee and Delegate Charles Sydnor (District 44B) will chair the Civil Law Subcommittee.
Other committee assignments include:
Delegate Clarence Lam (District 12)
Delegate Robbyn Lewis (District 46)
Delegate Ric Metzgar (District 6)
Delegate Marice Morales (District 19)
Delegate Andrew Platt (District 17)
Delegate Joseph Cluster (District 8)
Delegate Dan Morhaim (District 11)
Delegate April Rose (District 5)
Remaining committee assignments will be made on Opening Day.

Leave a Reply